Substitute 8 March 2017

Some people don’t cope well with bad situations. They get caught in anger or depression and can’t find their way out. They react with their typical M.O. and then can’t stop even when they know they’ve gone way past ridiculous. They can’t see anyway to find peace or grace or to reach out for help.

I took a group students to Denver this week for the Colorado State Poetry Out Loud competition. We all had  such a great time listening to

Pixabay.com

great poetry being recited, as well as, our Colorado Poet Laureate, Joseph Hutchinson, emcee the evening. I have been amazed by his ability to know the tiniest little details of almost every poet read! This was a great experience for my rural students, and who doesn’t

like Cold Stone Creamery?!

Upon my return, I had a two page missive from my substitute. My favorite struggling Zombie writer refused to do the work stating to the sub, “I do not write in complete sentences because I don’t want to.” At least he was civil.

Pixabay.com

Those who do cope find ways to heal. They pray in faith. They seek help and ways to understand or survive or move on. They take long walks outside in the woods or along meadows or pastures. They meet friends to talk or have coffee. They talk to their pastor or go to church or read their Bible. They write. They seek out others who suffer, helping themselves in the process of helping others.

Zombie student came in at lunch the next day and asked me for a pencil, sat down, and began to write–in complete sentences.

About Sally Gerard

I am a writer, runner, teacher, singer, guitar player, mom, lover, coffee drinker, hunter, antique tractor driver, horsewoman, sister, and lover of the outdoors. Did I mention that I love lighthouses?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

