Two Poems 28 February 2017

img_1734I love this poetry form which is all about hands and what hands say about people. I wrote these two recently:

Robert has hands rough and worn from work. 

He turns the pages of the engine book gently, reverently.

Robert is a mountain in a snow storm.

“Why that no good rascal!” He says to the TV,

But then his eyes slide shut and drifts off.

Pixabay.com

Pixabay.com

God’s hands must be so vast and limber.

He plucks certain stars to fall and forms tiny newborn lives.

God is the universe and the single cell.

“I made you from the dust of stars; I breathe through you.”

He reaches out to take my hand, but I am busy watching the glowing path of that falling star. 

About Sally Gerard

I am a writer, runner, teacher, singer, guitar player, mom, lover, coffee drinker, hunter, antique tractor driver, horsewoman, sister, and lover of the outdoors. Did I mention that I love lighthouses?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Two Poems 28 February 2017

Leave a Reply

