A Snow Day 5 January 2017

Pixabay.com

Pixabay.com

It’s one of those days school kids everywhere pray for: a snow day! And we only just came back from the winter break too. I’m relieved; I don’t enjoy driving in snowy conditions, especially in sub-zero temperatures. I stay warmer on my morning run then I do in my pick-up. Why is that? I had little ice balls built up around my ankles this morning, but even at one below, I did all right. Mostly because someone turned off the wind machine for a little while.

I know after my math lesson in English yesterday, my students’ brains may still be reeling. I went over x and y-axis and positive and negative areas of the graph, and related my own winter break to the categories on my y-axis intervals. We didn’t finish by the end of class, but they were engaged and spent much more time getting just the right names for their categories than I would have expected. Some of them moved the x-axis either up or down to make more room for positive or negative.

Pixabay.com

Pixabay.com

My favorite category interval was “I want a redo.” I asked for an explanation and this is what I got:

When break started, I had so many plans and things I wanted to do. And I spent my days doing nothing and wasting my time. And all of a sudden, break was over and I got nothing accomplished. I want a redo.

I hope that by the end of today, I have accomplished everything on my list, which I just expanded due to the snow day gift.

About Sally Gerard

I am a writer, runner, teacher, singer, guitar player, mom, lover, coffee drinker, hunter, antique tractor driver, horsewoman, sister, and lover of the outdoors. Did I mention that I love lighthouses?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

