New Beginnings 3 January 2017

First mountain snow shoe trip of the season with Elaine. Second...

First mountain snow shoe trip of the season with Elaine. Second…

Even typing that new year in my title makes me think I better do something spectacular and soon. Last year is over and I didn’t accomplish half of what I set out to. But I am optimistic. The Christmas lights and tree will remain up for a while to remind me about what is important, and to inspire me to be the person I was created to be.

I did so some reading on some different resolutions from realbuzz.com:

“It’s easy to get into a rut where we do the same things day in, day out, with our days passing us by as a routine-filled blur. Next year, spice up your routine by vowing to do one small thing differently each day or week. Wear something you wouldn’t normally wear, run a different route, or order a different coffee perhaps. Also, don’t fall into the trap of postponing your happiness by saving everything special “for best”. Instead, brighten up a routine day every so often by donning your diamond earrings, swapping faded comfy knickers for your favorite silk underwear, or eating those fancy chocolates washed down with a glass of champagne!”

Many of our resolutions (these included) are inwardly focused, concentrating on ways to become thinner, healthier, wealthier people. However, while there is nothing wrong with improving yourself, it’s worth remembering there’s a whole world out there too. Next year, why not make a resolution to focus outwards instead and help make the world a better place. Plan to do one nice thing a day for someone else; whether it’s something small like giving a compliment, or something potentially life-saving like donating blood or sponsoring a child in need. By knowing you are making a difference, you will also indirectly boost your own happiness and sense of achievement.”img_1603

I like both of these, so I think I’ll get my mom’s china out once-in-a-while, even if we are just having grilled cheese and tomato soup. And maybe I’ll try to keep track of ‘doing something nice for someone’ in my gratitude journal, once I drag it out from underneath the pile on my desk. And, in my teaching, I will experiment and try to do some things differently so my students don’t feel like they are in a rut. Any ideas are appreciated!

About Sally Gerard

I am a writer, runner, teacher, singer, guitar player, mom, lover, coffee drinker, hunter, antique tractor driver, horsewoman, sister, and lover of the outdoors. Did I mention that I love lighthouses?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

