Tis the Season 12 December 2016

img_1550I was listening to a compilation of Christmas memories from a group of audio book narrators.  While there were some that were funny and some serious, all them had some things in common. As we head into the depth of winter, and in this hemisphere, our shortest days, we need the peace of Christmas to see us through dark nights and cold days.

Our traditions, especially those that bring us close to family and friends, fill our spirit during this time of year when we need it most. The colorful lights on trees and homes and in businesses serve to brighten our spirits. When we take a deep breath at the lines and in the crowds and can say, “Merry Christmas” to the annoying person in front of or behind us or to the overworked checker at the store, we can lift another’s spirits.

Who, in the privacy of their own vehicle, doesn’t  turn up the radio when ‘Feliz Navidad’ starts to play and then sings along?! I know I do and then I feel cheery! And yes, I stand accused of listening to Christmas music before Thanksgiving, putting up my lights too early and leaving them up too late, and (I know, the horror!) making and eating my family’s traditional Christmas cookies before Christmas. But I do it with oh, so much joy. img_1569

And when the school district put out the plea for more help with the local angel tree, I thought, who better than our English department to adopt and provide for a family in need  of Christmas. And, as I knew they would, my partners stepped up to the plate and we inspired the Admin team to join us in sponsoring another family. It really takes so little for all of us to help make someone else’s Christmas a little more joyful. ‘Tis the season!

About Sally Gerard

I am a writer, runner, teacher, singer, guitar player, mom, lover, coffee drinker, hunter, antique tractor driver, horsewoman, sister, and lover of the outdoors. Did I mention that I love lighthouses?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

