Genuine 11 July 2016

IMG_0995

I am like my father in that I don’t much care for conflict. I like everything to go along smoothly and for people to get along. It makes me very uncomfortable when tempers flare and things get said in the heat of moments. I hate it when I see someone hurting because of those heated moments. I know that anger comes from frustration and is almost always accompanied by the person being tired and stressed and there is just a breaking point.

I was listening to a commercial the other day on a local channel. It’s this big, happy guy who sits and just gives a positive message.

So something like: don’t give in to the negative around you. Instead, surround yourself with positive people and ideas and feelings.    And another one: Don’t let those around you tell you can’t. You can. You can do or be whatever you want and set your mind to. There will be mistakes and setbacks, but keep going. Be the you, you want to be.

It made me stop and listen, not only because the guy seemed so full of joy, but because it is IMG_1136a good message. It drives me crazy when people act like jerks or are rude, disrespectful, or just total Yahoo’s. I’m not always sure how to defuse a situation, but I try to stay positive. And I’ve done a lot of thinking about what I’ve shut off in my life because someone said something negative about it, even though it was something I loved and enjoyed. I’ll take a closer look and be sure to bring those things back into my life. It not only hurts us when we let go of things we love because of negative feedback, but it hurts those we’re closest too because we aren’t being who we are meant to be.

I miss my dad. He had a kind and gentle spirit and that will always be a part of me. He always cared about what I was doing and who I am. He loved all of us without condition and taught us to love each other. He was genuine.

About Sally Gerard

I am a writer, runner, teacher, singer, guitar player, mom, lover, coffee drinker, hunter, antique tractor driver, horsewoman, sister, and lover of the outdoors. Did I mention that I love lighthouses?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

