Time of Day 31 May 2016

IMG_2468

My favorite time of day is early morning. I love to be a part of the birth of a new day when stars still fill the sky, but there’s a barely perceptible line of coming light along the eastern horizon. I often notice a falling star, and then, without any conscious effort on my part, the line of light begins to take shape-going from dark blue to a sort of grey-blue and purple to soft hues of pink to reddish and orange.

It’s amazing and it lifts my spirit, feeling holy and sacred and, well, new. There is DSC_0263possibility and promise and whole day stretched out just waiting for me to take one step in and ride the journey to night.

My favorite time of day is evening. The sun sets in all of its red-orange glory; the sky turns from bright blue to grey blue to blue-black. Stars begin to twinkle into existence and the world pauses to take a breath. I can step off and relax. IMG_0758Robert and I can talk of our day, share a meal, and make our steady way to rest, wrapped in each other’s arms, prayers from our hearts, whisper ‘I love you,’ and drop off into easy sleep filled with dreams. Even in sleep, we often find our arms around each other in love and belonging, content and secure.

It fills and sustains me, renewing my heart and soul for the day to come. There is fulfillment of promises made by hearts and the journey through the night always ends too soon.

About Sally Gerard

I am a writer, runner, teacher, singer, guitar player, mom, lover, coffee drinker, hunter, antique tractor driver, horsewoman, sister, and lover of the outdoors. Did I mention that I love lighthouses?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

