Warnings 16 November 2015

blizzard warning

Sometimes it seems like we live from one warning to the next while we do our best to prepare. We are in our second blizzard warning in the last eight days, but this time it sounds like it will be much more intense. Forecasts vary of course, but somewhere between five and ten inches of snow and fifty MPH winds. Once again, the timing of the storm is giving students that hope of a snow day.

I confess that I could put a snow day to good use. While it isn’t really a ‘warning’ as such, I IMG_3875have a huge test on Thursday that I’ve been preparing for and I could use another chunk of time to study. In the teaching world, many states advertise reciprocity with other states and teaching licenses. To me, this should mean that if Colorado has granted me a professional teaching license, and I want to get a license in a state that has reciprocity with Colorado, then it should be a simple matter of filling out a form, providing my professional credential and receiving the new license from the other state. Not so fast.

Although background checks, official transcripts, teaching experience, courses and evaluations abound, that isn’t enough. I must do all of this again. The thing that is driving me nuts is that many of these requirements are federal, so why can’t they just apply nationally? If I proved with a FBI check in Colorado that I have no record, and if Colorado recognizes me as an IMG_2369official US citizen, then why doesn’t that apply in every single state? It is frustrating to say the least, especially when your livelihood depends on being able to teach in multiple states because you teach online.

So, I study for this particular state’s test because, apparently, my state’s is not good enough. My Master’s degree is not good enough. My FBI and USCIS checks are not good enough. Let the snow come and the wind blow, just not on Thursday.

About Sally Gerard

I am a writer, runner, teacher, singer, guitar player, mom, lover, coffee drinker, hunter, antique tractor driver, horsewoman, sister, and lover of the outdoors. Did I mention that I love lighthouses?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

