Religion 19 October 2015

IMG_1584

Religion doesn’t mean much to me. It is hypocrisy and excuse for judgement and violence. Faith, on the other hand, means everything to me. My relationship with God, my belief, my very existence-called into being from the dust of stars by God who knows me and loves me.

This ties into the reason I am on this Earth, to worship God and glorify God forever. As the IMG_4103song says, “When we sing to God in heaven, we will find such harmony. Born of all we’ve known together…” And these words bring solace to my soul when I’m hurting:

I will hold the Christ light for you, in the night-time of your fears. I will hold my hand out to you, speak the words you long to hear.

What words do I long to hear? I long to hear someday, but not too soon, “Well done, good and faithful servant.” I long to hear words from my children that tell me they are happy IMG_3997and safe and living full lives and lives with passion. I long to hear words of love, daily, and wrap my heart in them when I do. I long to hear other things too: “Your novel is a best seller and we’re going make a movie.” Or, “Ms.G, please let us write more!” “Ms.G, I can’t wait to give you my essay.” “Ms.G, I love poetry and English and all things Englishy!”

What? It could happen.

About Sally Gerard

I am a writer, runner, teacher, singer, guitar player, mom, lover, coffee drinker, hunter, antique tractor driver, horsewoman, sister, and lover of the outdoors. Did I mention that I love lighthouses?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Religion 19 October 2015

  1. Sally Gerard says:

    Don’t get me wrong, I love the ritual. What I don’t like are the politics and corruption that comes in “the church.” When I served on session and on deacons, I had my eyes opened and I didn’t much like it.

  2. julieburgii says:

    The “Servant Song” is one of the songs that comes up as I walk daily. “When we sing to God in Heaven, we will find such harmony,” is the line that just bursts from my lips, even as I walk uphill. It reminds me of the community we have found in our family, and the the community I have found in the church in my travels. As far as religion vs. faith, I understand your words. But for me the best parts of religion are the rituals where we gather together: worship, confession, communion. God is in all of those things, and I find him there, and my faith grows.

Leave a Reply

