Change 15 July 2015

100_0257

Generally, I hate change. I go into change kicking and screaming. I know this is not the healthiest way to evolve, but it is my way. I do come around, after some time has passed, and then either love it and wonder why it hasn’t always been this way, or adapt to it and end up loving the new system.

For example: my friend Gary removed some old tree trunks from the horse corral without saying anything to me, the riding director. We used those trunks to tie horses, and after he removed them (we were gone on an all day ride), I had to rethink shady-spot spacing for twenty-five horses. Adapt.

Each time we had a new program director,AllPics 721 I had to explain my vision of horse camp and its mission. I really liked all of them, with one exception. This one would not advocate for the horse program, and worse, had that sickly sweet smile spewing all the right words out, but that is all they were. A thriving horse program giving hundreds of kids confidence and faith was killed there-driven into the dirt. Leave.

AllPics 1027Moving. Moving is so difficult because you have to leave behind friends, spaces, familiarity, and that piece of earth you’ve come to love to go bluntly into the unknown and alien. Exposed and vulnerable, it takes time to fit in, to find those new running paths, to discover beauty and new people. To figure out where to get your groceries and who has good coffee. Adapt and love.

About Sally Gerard

I am a writer, runner, teacher, singer, guitar player, mom, lover, coffee drinker, hunter, antique tractor driver, horsewoman, sister, and lover of the outdoors. Did I mention that I love lighthouses?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Change 15 July 2015

  1. Sally Gerard says:

    I’m right there with you. It makes me sad to drive by when I’m up there, but I also have the joy of 25 years of memories.

  2. Sabrina Johannes says:

    I haven’t made my way back up to Highlands as it makes me sad every time I go up there that things made that change for the worst. My mom took Preston my oldest Nephew to Grandparents camp this year, she says it was sad to not see horse-back riding as an option for the kids to do!! Maybe someday there will be someone who comes in and takes over the camp again and finds a way to get the program back!! I pray for that as I would love to send my kids to Highlands and through the same programs I did!!!

Leave a Reply

