A Perfect Friend 14 July 2015

IMG_3639

My perfect friend knows me, know all of my faults and loves me still. Knows all of my annoying habits and loves me still. Knows my deepest secrets and judges not. Knows my odd little quirks and laughs at them. No matter how much time we are apart, we can pick up right where we left off.

My perfect friend takes one look at me and accepts me for who I am with no expectations that I’ll change. My perfect friend sings John Denver with me on long road trips, listens when I need to pour my heart out, sends boxes of my favorite treats when she can’t be here with me in my hurt. Celebrates my triumph and joys as I do hers. IMG_3574

My perfect friend is never cruel and goes the extra mile to help me find my feet again after I’ve taken a fall. Listens to my hair-brained ideas, nodding and smiling no matter how far-fetched. Pushes me to be my best, laboring with me to see me through. Teaches me, gently, other ways I can be. Shares s’mores with me, even if we have to cook the mallows over the stove.

Just knowing that my perfect friend is there, gives me confidence to go out and be what I need to be, because if I fail, I know my perfect friend will be there to help sweep up the pieces and put them back together for another try.

About Sally Gerard

I am a writer, runner, teacher, singer, guitar player, mom, lover, coffee drinker, hunter, antique tractor driver, horsewoman, sister, and lover of the outdoors. Did I mention that I love lighthouses?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Perfect Friend 14 July 2015

  1. Awwww. Thanks, MY perfect friend! 😘

Leave a Reply

