Road Trips 24 November 2014

DSCN2730I love road trips to anywhere. I like to drive or ride along in the pick-up and gaze out at new scenery, or see what’s changed on a road I’ve been on before.

 

IMG_0534

 

 

 

I love to see how the road wears the different seasons–snow-covered or turning brown in fall or aspen leaves changing to yellows and reds or seeing long Vs of geese flying high or fields full of migrating Sandhill Cranes.

 

I love to drive by farms and barns and IM000005.JPGwonder who lives there and what livestock is in the barn or what antique treasures are stored. Robert and I keep a running tally of white verses red barns as we have a long-standing disagreement about what color barns should be!

 

 

I love sing along to the ‘tick-tock’ polka and allIMG_0546 manner of other music. Enjoying some cold fried chicken wings with popcorn and fruit that we’ve packed along, with a bottle of tea or a cup of coffee keeps us going all day long. I like to stop at historical markers and cemeteries to get a feel for a place.

Sometimes we stop for a treat at a Dairy Queen (hot fudge of course!), or we might get a bag of peanut M&Ms to share. Sometimes we’re on a journey to see some antique tractor or go to an auction, but we always meet the best people. Sometimes we stop for breakfast in some small town cafe and simply listen and enjoy some hot coffee. IMG_0411Driving, I love to pass by those big windmills and imagine climbing to the top to look out over this beautiful land as far as I can see. Road trips-a sweet adventure!

About Sally Gerard

I am a writer, runner, teacher, singer, guitar player, mom, lover, coffee drinker, hunter, antique tractor driver, horsewoman, sister, and lover of the outdoors. Did I mention that I love lighthouses?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

